Serving Southeast Insurance Agents Since 1981

History

Our founder Charlie M. Phillips started his insurance career in 1967 as an underwriter with the Sam B. Reid Agency. On October 11, 1981 Dixie Specialty Insurance, Inc. had its beginning as Dixie General Agency, Inc. Our initial business focus was local, intermediate, and long haul trucking risks domiciled in the state of Mississippi. Within a few years of being in business, Charlie Phillips noted that product diversification was essential to providing the superior service that the independent insurance agents of Mississippi needed and deserved. During the next 10 years Dixie focused on product expansion while growing our expertise in the local, intermediate, and long haul trucking market. In 1991, Dixie General Agency was changed to Dixie Specialty Insurance, Inc to reflect that our product line had been expanded to include garage products as well as a variety of property and casualty products. Dixie Specialty, while still focusing on superior service to the independent insurance agents, continued to grow under the guidance of Charlie Phillips until his sudden death in December 1999. Ownership of Dixie Specialty was then passed to his son David Phillips and his daughter Trissi Wilkinson. During the past ten years, some exciting changes have taken place at Dixie Specialty Insurance. David Phillips and Trissi Wilkinson continued to provide superior service to the independent insurance agents. In October 2011, Trissi Wilkinson stepped out of the insurance business, making David Phillips sole owner and CEO of Dixie Specialty Insurance. We honor and thank Trissi for her many years of hard work and dedication to Dixie Specialty. David Phillips has embraced technology as a vital component to providing superior service to the independent insurance agents while helping in his quest to navigate through the ever changing Excess and Surplus Lines markets. Since 1999, Dixie Specialty has expanded from operating solely in Mississippi and is now operating in Alabama, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Louisiana. Throughout the expansion our primary focus is to still provide quality, accelerated, and superior service to the independent insurance agents of Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Louisiana.

Meet The Team

Brittany Blanton

Assistant Garage & Transportation Underwriter | bblanton@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2021

Cassandra Phillips

Network Administrator - Information Technology | cphillips@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2007

Cheri Bishop

Director of First Impressions | cbishop@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2020

Danielle Rickard

Policy Issuance | drickard@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2018

David Phillips

Chief Executive Officer | dphillips@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2000

Meghan Maier

Assistant Property & Casualty Underwriter | mmaier@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2021

Melissa Cagle

Endorsements | mcagle@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2002

Tavia Curtis

Claims Processor | tcurtis@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2003

Trissi Wilkinson

Garage Underwriter | twilkinson@dixiespecialty.com | Joined our team in 2017

Memberships